JUXTAPOZ #1 Flashback

JUXTAPOZ #1 Flashback

I regards to Lowbrow 101, I found my old copy of Juxtapoz #1: winter 1994.  I remember when I first picked this issue up….I was so excited! I couldn’t believe that a Robert Williams art mag had made it all the way to East Texas!  I was in art school at the time & was familiar with Robert Williams work through the local bookstore; I was always diggin’ around, lookin’ at all the Frazetta, Dali, and Warhol books. It was a weekly ritual to scan through all the art & design mags ( …I only do this once every month or two now; thank God & my wife for my subscriptions to Jux, Art in America, and Art Forum!).

…Anyway, here are some scans of the first issue! The mag did a good job at being thorough when it cam to variety (a trademark of Lowbrow). The issue included digital art, photography, pin striping, comics, fantasy, and a John Pound centerfold poster! Check out the editorial at the front…it ends with, “…the art magazine that plans to stay below everyone’s dignity”. We will revue the current Jux issue this weekend (..still reading it…great issue: I love Panter, Morning Breath, & Faile = who needs their own cover story!!!! http://www.faile.net &   http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Faile_(artist_collective) ).

OK…

cover.jpgpg1.jpgpg12.jpgpg18.jpgpg22.jpgpg23.jpgpg24.jpgpg25.jpgpg37.jpgposter.jpgpg66.jpgpg77.jpgpg80.jpgback.jpg

One of the artists displayed in the mag above is Manuel Ocampo: http://artscenecal.com/ArticlesFile/Archive/Articles1997/Articles1097/MOcampoA.html

Rock on!

- st. Mars

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

